new // old // book // mail // note // design // host

January 26, 2005 // 12:20 a.m.
Written during the blizzard's aftermath

I hate snow.

I had to dig my car out, and then dig my car off. (I said dig it off. Snow removal from the hood, roof and trunk took place with a shovel.) I ventured out to Petsmart and Wal-Mart, scooting through a few inches of slush everywhere I drove. I ended up cutting my shopping trip short, and didn't go grocery shopping like I had wanted to. I had had enough.

It's comical to watch SUV drivers in weather like this, since they think that their behemoths make them invincible. Well, they don't. I watched SUVs wobble and swerve in areas where my control of the car was fine. They think that the SUV gives them some kind of magical power while driving in the winter and they can drive obnoxiously and as if there's not a flake to be seen. Well, no, you can't do that. (The Accord, by the way, is a terrible snow car. Honda has never seen fit to offer a 4WD sedan, and I'm not sure it would help if they did.)

I don't like skidding. Parking lots were hopeless. Every time I got out of the car, I ended up kicking behind the tires to dislodge the filthy slush.

If my class downtown tomorrow got out any earlier than 10:15, I'd take the bus instead of driving. Maybe the roads will be better by tomorrow night.

3.6 miles -- 500 miles by December 31, 2005

last // next